Kahuta Tehsil (Urdu: تحصیل کہوٹہ‎) is one of the eight tehsils (subdivisions) of Rawalpindi District in the Punjab province of Pakistan. The neighbouring tehsil of Kallar Sayedan used to be part of Kahuta, but was later created as separate tehsil. The name Kahuta was derived from "Koh" a local medicinal tree (Look the leaves as Oliven) and "Boota". Perhaps "Koh Boota" was shortened to Kohuta/Kahuta over the passage of time.